Off-Topic: Chris Simms

This has nothing to do with the Gators, but the Bucs are my favorite NFL team. Forgive me, but this is too weird not to say something.

Chris Simms had his spleen removed today after having it rupture against the Panthers today. Now, I am not now nor have I ever been a Chris Simms fan, but I certainly don’t want to see this. He’s basically done for the season since he’ll be out 2 – 3 months. The Bucs aren’t going to the playoffs after starting 0-3, so I think they should keep Simms out even if cleared to play for say, Week 14 or 15, just to make sure that he fully recovers from this.

Based on what happened today, Bruce Gradkowski will become the starter over Tim Rattay. I think Gradkowski is going to be fine too. He won’t be anchoring anyone’s fantasy team, but he’ll be solid. I don’t think he’ll be like Ben Roethlisberger coming out of the MAC (Gradkowski went to Toledo), but I like his chances of staying poised at the end of games more than I like Simms’ chances.

Anyway you look at it, this was a bad day for the Bucs. They lose on a last-second field goal to fall out of the playoff race after just three games, and the starting quarterback ruptured his spleen in the process. You just have to wonder when Jon Gruden will start falling into Larry Coker territory – on the hot seat because though he won a championship with someone else’s players, he hasn’t done anything since. At least they’ll get another high draft pick.

4 Responses to Off-Topic: Chris Simms

  1. sport tracker says:

    I think Gradkowski will do an excellent job at QB. I saw him play many games at Toledo and his ability to carry a football team is amazing. He will fill in and possibly lead this football team into the playoffs. He is so mobile and can see the field so well. In case anyone else cares, his best friend Lance Moore is a punt returner for the Saints. I think its quite ironic that Bruce’s first start be against his best friend from college. It should be a good one.

  2. year2 says:

    I agree. I didn’t get to see him much, but what I saw I really liked. It’s too early to say whether he’ll be as good as Roethlisberger, but they’re also different kinds of players too. I like how Gradkowski is more poised than Simms is. They’re both tough, but under duress Simms tends to get indecisive, something the coaches have been getting on him for, but Gradkowski makes plays. At least he did at Toledo.

    After a bye week, the Bucs will have had time to get him ready for the Saints, but the defense will have to improve a lot. We’ll see, but the Saints look dramatically better.

  3. sport tracker says:

    How did ya like that game against the Saints? I think Bruce did a really good job for his first start. His stats were solid and he seemed pretty comfortable out there. It was a lot closer game than many people thought it was going to be.

  4. year2 says:

    I didn’t get to see or hear much of the game, but aside from the fumble he did well. I wasn’t surprised either since he was a big-time player at Toledo and somewhat overlooked since he played in the MAC. He’s got more mobility than people think, but he’ll only be able to surprise defenses with it for so long. He’s got a good future ahead of him and at worst will have a long career as a backup.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

