Florida to Honor Wilber Marshall Again

For the second year in a row, Florida is honoring Wilber Marshall before a game.

Last season it was to induct him into the Ring of Honor. It was a great gesture, but honestly, he should have been in the first round in 2006 with Steve Spurrier, Jack Youngblood, Emmitt Smith, and Danny Wuerffel.

This time, he is being honored due to his induction into the Division I-A Football Hall of Fame. I wish I could have seen him play because my father talks about him being an absolute terror on the field. Unfortunately his final season was two years before I was born.

It’s somewhat fitting that he’s being honored Saturday since he was on the team back when Florida played Miami every year. He was a senior on the 1983 Gator team that gave Miami its only loss of the year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: