SEC Power Poll Roundtable

1. Pretend for a minute that Vanderbilt wasn’t 2-0, then answer this question: What has been the most surprising thing in the SEC so far this season?

I can’t say I’ve been overly surprised by anything so far.

Alabama did beat Clemson by more than I expected, but Tommy Bowden is still Clemson’s coach and the Tide predictably crashed back to earth against Tulane. I guess Ole Miss has done better than I thought it would, but until we get a bigger sample size of games, it’s too early to judge the Rebels for sure.

I also would have thought by now that Steve Spurrier would be doing better, but then again the players are roughly the same as last year and it still is South Carolina.

2. Conference action has either just begun for most teams, or will Sept. 20. (The exception is Kentucky, which I believe plays I-AA teams until mid-November.) From what you’ve seen so far, how will your team fare in your division? If it’s not going to win, which team will?

Florida is not playing to its highest potential yet, so we haven’t probed their ceiling yet. Some things they need to work on were exposed against Miami and they now have a bye week to sort them out. It’s yet another way this schedule is friendly to the Gators. They will definitely be in the thick of the division race the whole season.

If Florida doesn’t win it, Georgia will. I think the Vols have too many problems to hang around and steal it like they did last year, though they’ve only had one game. South Carolina is sinking already, Kentucky might not have an offense, and Vandy is Vandy.

3. Which SEC player that few of us are paying attention to is poised to have a breakout season? Try to choose someone not on your team.

I’m not a huge personnel guy, so I probably couldn’t identify a potential breakout guy that few are paying attention to outside of UF. Aaron Hernandez is probably my pick on the Gators.

I’ll do a cop out and go with two: Georgia RB Caleb King in relief of Moreno and DT Terrence Cody of Alabama. It increases my chances of picking someone you haven’t heard of. King is a hard runner, and Mount Cody will probably spend much of the season doing to offensive lines what the Kool-Aid man did to vertical barriers. Oh yeah.

4. Both Arkansas and LSU have had games delayed because of hurricanes. If you could choose a game on your team’s current schedule to get postponed because of inclement weather, which game would you choose and why?

I can’t say there’s any games right now that need to be moved. We have a bye before Tennessee, pathetic-so-far Arkansas before LSU, and a bye and Kentucky before Georgia.

If anything I’d pick the Arkansas game in order to get a bye before LSU and to be sporting to the Pigs, who now have a nasty gauntlet thanks to their Texas game being moved.

5. So, the Large Haldron Collider hasn’t destroyed the Earth — so far, anyway. But had the world ended Wednesday morning, which SEC game would you have most regretted missing? Assuming, of course, you had been around to regret it. (Head…hurts…)

It hasn’t? I could’ve sworn we all got sucked through a quantum wormhole generated by a black hole and we’re in an alternate universe where people can fly. Let me check… nope, never mind.

Florida-Georgia is the obvious pick of intra-conference games, though I have to admit, FSU is the Gators’ biggest rival for me. Not getting to beat them in their place for the third time in a row would have made me shed a tear. Right before I got absorbed and transformed into strange matter, of course.

Leave a Reply

